The Woman’s Club of Minneapolis was founded in 1907 by 39 of the city’s most influential women. This four-story clubhouse was built in 1927 to replace their first, much smaller clubhouse on Harmon Place. It was designed by architect Léon Arnal, better known for his work on the Foshay Tower and the Minneapolis Post Office.

Distinctive wrought-iron balconettes, an entrance of double doors flanked by pillars, arched loggia overlooking Loring Park, and patterned brickwork create a pretty Italianate-style exterior. The interior features event spaces, a historic theatre for more than 600 guests, dining rooms, lounges, and a rooftop terrace with breathtaking views of the downtown skyline. The club’s mission of “educational, civic, and social services, study and friendly association” continues to be the goal of the organization today.